12 NAHL alumni named to Mike Richter Award watch list | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

12 NAHL alumni named to Mike Richter Award watch list

January 17, 2024

Former Kenai River Brown Bear Nils Wallstrom

On January 12th, the Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) released the “Watch List” for goaltenders competing for the Mike Richter Award, granted to the best goalie in NCAA Division 1 Hockey. The prestigious award has been given out annually since its inception in the 2013-2014 season when former Odessa Jackalopes netminder Connor Hellebuyck received the inaugural award at UMass-Lowell in the Hockey East Conference. 

This season, the “Watch List” consists of 32 names and 12 of those players have previous ties to playing in the NAHL. 

NAHL Alumni on 2023-24 Richter Award “Watch List”

Atlantic Hockey: 

Nicholas Grabko, Bentley University: (Minot Minotauros 2018-19)

Jason Grande, College of the Holy Cross: (Amarillo Bulls 2017-19)

Chad Veltri, Robert Morris University: (Corpus Christi IceRays 2016-18)

Nils Wallström, American International College: (Kenai River Brown Bears 2022-23)

Big Ten: 

Kyle McClellan, University of Wisconsin: (Austin Bruins 2018-19)


Jake Sibell, University of St. Thomas: (Minnesota Wilderness 2017-19/Aberdeen Wings 2019-21)


Cooper Black, Dartmouth College: (Maryland Black Bears 2019-20/Odessa Jackalopes 2020-21)

Ian Shane, Cornell University: (Bismarck Bobcats 2020-21)

Hockey East: 

Zach Borgiel, Merrimack College: (Brookings Blizzard 2017-18)

Ethan Haider, University of Connecticut (Minnesota Magicians 2017-19)

Henry Welsch, UMass-Lowell (Aberdeen Wings 2018-20)


Ludvig Persson, University of North Dakota (Lone Star Brahmas 2019-20)

The HCA selection committee that selects these players is made up of coaches, administrators, scouts, and media personnel who will then narrow this list down to 15 players in the next three weeks. The winner will be announced during the 2024 NCAA Frozen Four in St. Paul Minnesota. 

(Sourced from Hockey Commissioners Association)


Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings