15 NAHL Alumni Nominated for 2024 Hobey Baker Award | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

15 NAHL Alumni Nominated for 2024 Hobey Baker Award

January 31, 2024

A total of 15 North American Hockey League (NAHL) alumni have been nominated for the 2024 Hobey Baker Memorial Award. The award is given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I college hockey. 

The award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, is composed of and based upon four sets of criteria that all nominees met. Criteria includes; Strength of character, on and off the ice. Contribution to the integrity of the team and outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Scholastic achievement and sportsmanship. Compliance with all NCAA rules, including being a full-time student in an accredited college or university and completing 50 percent or more of the season. 

The following former NAHL players have been nominated for the 2024 Hobey Baker Award: 

Atlantic Hockey: 

Brian Kramer, American International College: (Corpus Christi IceRays 2017-19)

Rylee St. Onge, Robert Morris University: (Corpus Christi IceRays 2017-18)

Chad Veltri, Robert Morris University: (Corpus Christi IceRays 2016-18)

Big Ten: 

Kyle McClellan, University of Wisconsin: (Austin Bruins 2018-19)


Lleyton Roed, Bemidji State University (Minnesota Magicians 2020-21)

Ryan Naumovski, Augustana University (New Jersey Titans 2016-19)

Jared Westcott, Lake Superior State University (Lone Star Brahmas 2017-18)

Antonio Venuto, Ferris State University (Jamestown Rebels 2018-19)


John Prokop, Union College: (Janesville Jets 2018-19)

Sutter Muzzatti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI): (Austin Bruins 2019-20)

Gabriel Seger, Cornell University: (Amarillo Bulls 2019-20)

Ian Shane, Cornell University: (Bismarck Bobcats 2020-21)


Tim Lovell, Arizona State University: (Northeast Generals 2018-19)


Matthew Barbolini, Miami University (Ohio): (Janesville Jets 2017-18)

Ludvig Persson, University of North Dakota (Lone Star Brahmas 2019-20)

The selection process for the award is in three parts. First, the head coaches of NCAA Division I schools nominate the top three players in their league and the top three players in the nation. College hockey fans can also vote online at this time—and fan voting can be an important factor in the balloting outcome. 

Voting then commences for the “Hobey Hat Trick,” which is a narrowing of the field from ten players to three, from which the winner is selected. The primary voting in this part of the process is by the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Selection Committee, a geographically balanced group of 29 individuals representing print and electronic sports media, college hockey coaches and officials, and NHL scouts. Fans may also vote online for their favorite candidate during this phase of the process.

After the three finalists for the award are announced (“Hobey Hat Trick”), the countdown begins toward the announcement of the award winner in a nationally televised ceremony.

The most recent NAHL Hobey Baker Award winner was goaltender Dryden McKay in 2022 (Corpus Christi/Springfield Jr. Blues) of Minnesota State University. 

(via: hobeybaker.com)


Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings