Friday Finals: Anchorage Punches Ticket to Robertson Cup | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
Robertson Cup Merchandise

Friday Finals: Anchorage Punches Ticket to Robertson Cup

May 10, 2024

Kyle Doll celebrates his overtime goal as he extends Bismarck's season (Photo: Hope Magelky)

Maryland 0 @ Maine 3 (Maine Leads Series 2-1): The Maine Nordiques took Game 3 of the East Division Finals by a score of 3-0, the third shutout of the series. After a scoreless first period, Nils Forselius opened the scoring for Maine at 3:08 into the second period. Evan Orloff extended the lead for the Nordiques before Forselius followed up 33 seconds later with his second goal of the evening. Carter Richardson turned away 28 shots for his second shutout of the series while Owen Lepak saved 19 of 20 shots. 

Anchorage 3 @ Wisconsin 0 (Anchorage Wins Series 3-0): The Anchorage Wolverines sweep the Wisconsin Windigo to advance to the Robertson Cup after taking Game 3 by a final score of 3-0, their second shutout of the postseason. NAHL rookie and ‘05 forward Cole Frawner opened up the scoring for Anchorage, putting them up 1-0 through the first 20 minutes of play. Arvega Hovsepyan and Cole Christian scored the remaining two goals of the contest during the second period, securing their trip to Minnesota in hopes of hoisting the Roberston Cup. Liam Beerman turned away 24 shots for the shutout, while Max Beckford made 28 of 31 saves.

Minot 3 @ Bismarck 4 (OT) (Minot Leads Series 2-1): The Bismarck Bobcats protected home ice and their season after an overtime 4-3 win against the Minot Minotauros. Minot got the game's first goal in the opening period from Adam Mahler. In the second, the Bobcats came out flying, scoring three quick goals in just under six minutes. Julian Beaumont, Jakub Kopecky and Nick Baer put Bismarck ahead 3-1. Later in the period, Minot tied up the game 3-3 with goals from Murray Marvin-Cordes and Cayden Casey to force an extra period of play. In the overtime period, Kyle Doll netted the game winner for a 4-3 final. Bismarck netminder Klayton Knapp took the win in between the pipes after stopping 33 shots. Brady James was given the overtime loss as he finished the night with 35 saves.

Lone Star 4 @ Shreveport 1 (Lone Star Leads Series 2-1): The Lone Star Brahmas defeated the Shreveport Mudbugs at Georges Pond  in Hirsch Coliseum 4-1 to take a 2-1 series lead. The first period saw two Lone Star goals as Ivan Zadvernyuk and David Skuhrovec lit the lamp for the Brahmas. In the second frame, Ryan Burke got the Mudbugs on the scoresheet to bring the Mudbugs within one heading into the second intermission. In the third, the Brahmas added two more goals from David Skuhrovec and Owen Kerr to seal the win, 4-1. Lone Star netminder Jack Wieneke turned away 26 shots on net in the win. Eliot Seguin-Lescarbeau was stuck with the loss as he stopped 22 of 25 shots.

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings

Terms of Use